John 16:33 (NIV)  “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

Jesus is speaking to his disciples, letting them know about what is about to happen, Jesus came from God and is going to go back to God, and they will not see him for a little while then they will. He tells them and warns them of what is to come, the world rejoicing that Jesus is dead. He uses the example of a woman giving birth and going through pain until after the birth when she has her love, forgets the pain and replaces it with joy! He warns them that they will be separated, but he leaves them with: “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

